Yes! Our wheatgrass juice is safe and tested gluten free, but many wheatgrass products should not be used. Please read this entire message for a complete understanding.
I can recommend our wheatgrass juice to you without reservation. You will be pleased to hear that there is no gluten in our wheatgrass juice (click here for test results). The reason is that gluten is produced by an enzymatic process. Enzymatic processes are ones in which two or more ingredients come together to create an entirely different substance. As gluten is the product of an enzymatic process which combines proteins only present in the grain, wheat grass and wheatgrass juice do not contain gluten. When we harvest grass to make the juice, it is 7″ – 11″ high and in a completely green, grassy state. In our process, there are many weeks between planting and harvesting and no overlap between equipment that touches seed and equipment that cuts or juices the wheatgrass. We have many customers with gluten tolerance issues or celiac disease that have used and continue to use our wheatgrass juice with no problem.
That said, I did spend some time on Celiac.com and have some important information for you. Jamba Juice which has a gluten free menu does not list wheatgrass juice as being gluten free. This seems to be a handling issue as there is too much contact with the seeds that do contain gluten and some are so sensitive to gluten that just a brushing contact may set them off. I’m concerned that the close contact with the seeds may be a problem in indoor grown products where the grower is moving from planting (touching seeds) to juicing in the same daily cycle. There are reports of issues on Celiac.com.
To summarize, I can only recommend our wheatgrass juice (DynamicGreens) because we control the process and can assure you that there is no cross contamination between seeds that contain gluten and juice. Celiac.com users have reported problems with other products and Jamba Juice in particular does not give gluten free assurances.